Beauty

ANTI-HAUL: COSMETIC BRANDS/PRODUCTS I WON’T BE BUYING

 

Hello!!

So today’s post is an anti-haul, and if you don’t know what an anti-haul is, it’s basically a list of brands and products that I won’t be buying. I’m in no way hating on these brands or products, these are just not what I’m willing to spend my money on. So if you’re interested to see what they are just keep on reading!

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 2.40.25 pm.png

PRODUCT: Huda Beauty False Lashes –  This brand has been known for their ‘amazing’ false eyelashes and have extended their products to eyeshadows palettes and liquid lipsticks. The false lashes are made from mink fur but are said to be ‘cruelty-free’ as the minks are in ‘free-range zoos’. Minks are fiery animals which should not be kept in zoos in the first place. Whether or not the brand uses loose fur that has fallen off the minks and has been collected to be used for the lashes, the animals will still end up being killed for their fur, which I completely don’t believe in and would never give my money to a brand that supports that.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 2.42.24 pm.png

BRAND: Nars – Unfortuantely Nars has decided to sell in China which now makes them a non-cruelty-free brand. It’s super disappointing as I’ve been using Nars products for years now, and some of my holy-grail products are from this brand, but my love for animals is much more important than some makeup products, so I will no longer be purchasing from Nars.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 5.39.58 pm.png

PRODUCT: Too Faced White Chocolate Bar Palette – I was just so disappointed when I saw a photo of this palette! I did not feel inspired at all when I saw the shades as the colour range is so strange to me. The random green and orange, and the range of light and dark shades doesn’t make me want to use this to create an eye look with this palette. It’s such a shame because Too Faced nailed the other Chocolate Bar palettes.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 2.54.18 pm.png

PRODUCT: BECCA x Chrissy Teigen Glow Face Palette – Looking at the shades, especially with the highlights, they’re just too dark for my skin tone, and honestly, it doesn’t look any more special than other kits on the market. But I do think the highlights  would look beautiful on people with a darker skin tone.  If you have a kit like this, than most likely it would be unnecessary to buy something so similar to it. The bronzer and blush are pretty colours that I would use, but I already have shades similar to this anyway.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 2.55.36 pm.png

PRODUCT: Urban Decay Heat Palette – Don’t get me wrong, this palette is stunning, but there are a few reasons why I never picked this one up. First off, I’ve never really been a fan of any of the Urban Decay Naked Palettes. I personally didn’t like some of the shades in each palette which stopped me from being able to do a full eye look using just one palette. Also, this one is completely warm-toned, which is perfect because who doesn’t love warm-tones, BUT I feel like I have all these shades already in other palettes that I already own so it doesn’t make sense to buy this one, especially when its not cheap. Also, looking at it, I think they should’ve put one more dark shade like a black to complete the palette and would make it more usable.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 2.57.13 pm.png

PRODUCT: Anastasia Beverly Hills Aurora Glow Kit – The colours in this glow kit are super pretty, but they’re just not wearable in my opinion. I think it would be great if you’re going to a festival, but I don’t go to festivals, and even if I did, I’m not willing to spend a large amount of money on something that I would use only a couple times a year. On a day to day basis, I would never use a green or blue or pink highlighter. Also with this palette, you get 6 shades – I have never hit pan, let alone used a whole highlighter before, so I don’t see the point in actually buying a whole highlighter kit. I think it is just best to buy one highlight shade that you love and just use that.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 3.08.21 pm.png

PRODUCT: Marc Jacobs Beauty Mystery Bag – I was really surprised with this product when I first saw it. The whole idea of a mystery bag is exciting but when it’s such an expensive item to buy and you don’t know what you’re going to get, I think it’s a waste of money and I wouldn’t risk spending around AUD$60 on something where I don’t know what I’m going to get. I would rather spend that $60 on a product that I know I’m going to love and enjoy, than be disappointed. I have read some excellent reviews on this product, but I’m just not willing to risk it.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 6.00.22 pm.png

PRODUCT: Tarte Clay Stick Foundation – With foundations, I like to stick with what I know works for me and I don’t really experiment much with them because if your base isn’t right than the rest of your makeup products won’t work as well. Also, I’ve never been a real fan of stick foundations. I find them to be quite drying on the face and don’t work as well for me like a liquid foundation does.

 

Would you purchase any of these products? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Love,

ABBEY 

 

Don’t forget to follow, like and share my posts!

Follow my Instagram

Leave a Reply

