Beauty

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT CRUELTY-FREE COSMETICS

 

 

Hello everyone!

So today I am going to be talking about what you all need to know about animal testing when it comes to cosmetic products.

I’m a huge believer in animal rights and how animals shouldn’t be used in anyway shape or form for anything that humans do or use.

When I was first researching vegetarianism, an article popped up about cosmetic companies testing on animals. Before then, I didn’t even think that companies still did this anymore due to the advanced technologies that we have now as I thought it wouldn’t be necessary. But after seeing such disturbing and horrific footage of what these poor rabbits, mice, rats, hamsters, even cats and dogs have to go through, I realised it was well and truly still a thing that goes on in the world, and I knew I could no longer give my money to these companies and support torture.

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 7.53.03 pm.png
How could anyone harm this little face? 😦 

If you don’t know what cruelty-free means, it’s basically any brand that doesn’t test on animals anywhere in the world. It is common for people to think that a particular brand is cruelty-free in one country, for example, the United Kingdom, because it’s illegal for any brand to test on animals there, BUT that is not the case. If the brand is sold in China then the brand as whole is NOT cruelty-free because by law in China, cosmetics have to be tested on animals, and therefore that company is NOT cruelty-free.

I know there is nothing I can do to make a stop to this, so the only way is for all of us to stop buying these brands and hopefully they will realise that they’re losing money by selling in China. I don’t want to, and will never contribute to the torture and death of these poor animals just so I can have ‘volumised lashes’ or a ‘perfect nude lip’ when cruelty-free brands will give me the exact same results without the harm.

I don’t want to go into too much detail about animal testing procedures because it is barbaric, and I can’t believe there are people in this world that are okay with it and don’t care. I think that says a lot about the human race and how selfish people can be. BUT I will give you an idea of the ‘mild’ experiments that happen to these animals for cosmetic products:

  • ‘lethal dose’ tests are where the animal is forced to eat/drink chemicals to see how much of the dose causes death
  • eye irritation tests where chemicals are dripped into the animals eyes or have some of their skin shaved and the chemicals are rubbed into it

AND THAT ISN’T EVEN THE WORST OF IT! All of the experiments are done to these animals without any pain relief, and if the animals do survive through the experiments they are killed brutally anyway.

To easily find out if a product is cruelty-free or not, type in the brand’s name along with cruelty free next to it (for example, L’oreal cruelty free) and check out the company’s website, specifically the FAQ’s. Here are examples from two different makeup brands on their website:

This is on tarte’s FAQ page:

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 5.21.58 pm.png
Link to tarte’s website

This means that tarte IS a cruelty-free brand.

This is on Estee Lauder’s FAQ page:

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 5.50.33 pm.png
Link to Estee Lauder’s wesbite

Therefore, Estee Lauder is NOT a cruelty-free brand.

If the brand says that they do not test on animals BUT with the EXCEPTION of when testing is required by law, then the brand is NOT cruelty-free. If the brand doesn’t have anything about animal testing on their website or FAQ’s then I suggest go on PETA, Cruelty-free Kitty or Logical Harmony as they make lists of all cruelty-free and non cruelty-free products. After seeing such disturbing footage of what those poor animals go through, my only choice was to switch all my products to cruelty free products. Every time we purchase a non-cruelty free brand we are making a vote.

I still don’t get how we are in 2017 and animal testing is still a thing. Shouldn’t we know by now what products can and can’t be used on humans?!?!? And how the rest of the world is able to make cruelty-free cosmetics but China still requires it, just doesn’t make sense to me!!!!

Look out for these logos on products:

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 7.51.52 pm

And I am in no way trying to preach an idea, it’s just that I can’t stand the idea that people think that animals are slaves to the human race. If we can change the world just by purchasing different products, then I think we can all do it.

Please choose your products wisely, and think of the process of the product before it got on the shelf.

Thanks for reading!!

 

Love,

ABBEY

 

Don’t forget to follow, like and share my posts!

 

2 thoughts on “WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT CRUELTY-FREE COSMETICS”

Leave a Reply

